CE 4710 and CE 5710
Case Study in Transportation Enginering
 
Class 1- Monday, August 27
 
Cities and Transporation
No reading
 
Class 2- Wednesday, August 29
 
Basics of Transporation Planning
Biases in Transportatation Evaluation
Homework 1 (due Wed, Sept. 05)
 
No Class - Monday, September 03
 
Labor Day
 
Class 3- Wednesday, September 05
 
Transportation and the Structure of Cities
How Cities Work - Alex Marshall
Homework 2 (due Mon, Sept. 10)
 
Class 4- Monday, September 10
 
What ​is Transportation For?
The Highway and the City - Lewis Mumford
Class 5
 
The Fight for Bike Culture in 1960s Amsterdam
In the City of Bikes - Pete Jordan
Homework 3 (due Wed, Sept. 19)
 
No Class - Wednesday, September 12
Travel Day
 
No Class - Monday, September 17
 
Travel Day
 
Class 6- Wednesday, September 19
 
How Transport and Urban Form Affect Energy Use
Sustainability and Cities - Newman and Kenworthy
Class 7
Features of Effective Public Transit
Human Transit - Jarrett Walker
Homework 4 (due Wed, Sept. 26)
 
Class 8- Monday, September 24
 
Introduction to the Term Project
Project Selection Sheet
Tips for Effective Presentations
 
 
Class 9- Wednesday, September 26
 
Sustainability and Autodependency: The Case Study of Mississippi
Homework 5 (due Mon, October 01)
Study Guide for Exam 1
 
Class 10 - Monday, October 01
 
Group Research in Computer Lab (CAST 117)
 
Class 11 - Wednesday, October 03
 
Mid-semester Exam
 
Class 12 - Monday, October 08
Class 13 - Wednesday, October 10
Class 14 - Monday, October 15
 
Group Research in Computer Lab
 
Class 15 - Wednesday, October 17
 
Presentation 1
 
Class 16 - Monday, October 22
Class 17 - Wednesday, October 24
Class 18 - Monday, October 29
Class 19 - Wednesday, October 31
 
Group Research in Computer Lab
 
Class 20 - Monday, November 05
Class 21 - Wednesday, November 07
 
Presentation 2
 
Class 22 - Monday, November 12
Class 23 - Wednesday, November 14
Group Research in Computer Lab
 
No Class - Monday, November 19
No Class - Wednesday, November 21
 
Thanksgiving Week
 
 
Class 24 - Monday, November 26
Class 25 - Wednesday, November 28
Group Research in Computer Lab
 
Class 26 - Monday, December 03
Class 27 - Wednesday, December 05
 
Presentation 3
 
To Be Announced
 
Final Exam