CE 4720 and CE 5720
Street Design
 
Class 1- Thursday, January 24
 
1.1 Evolution of Street Design in America
1.2 The Character of A Street
Homework 1 
 
Class 2- Thursday, January 31
2.1 Context versus System Time Design
2.2 Speed in Design
Homework 2 
 
 
Speed Survey
 
Class 3- Thursday, February 7
 
3.1 Target Speed and Design Speed
3.2 Classification of Streets and Highways
 
Homework 3
 
Class 4- Thursday, February 14
 
4.1 Basics of Street Networks
4.2 The Design of Street Networks
 
Homework 4
 
Class 6- Thursday, February 28
 
Exam 1
 
Class 7 - Thursday, March 7
7.1 Elements of Urban Street Design
Homework 6
 
No Class - Thursday, March 14
 
No Class - Thursday, March 21
 
Spring Break
 
 
Class 8- Thursday, March 28
 

 

 
Design Studio
 
 
Class 9 - Thursday, April 4
 
9.1 Bike Facilities and Bike Network Design
Design Studio
Discuss Site Assessment
Homework 7
 
Class 10 - Thursday, April 11
 
Elements of Intersection Design
Design Studio
Draft Site Assessment Report
Homework 8
 
Class 12 - Thursday, April 18
 
Roundabouts
Design Studio
Identify Design Exemplars
 
Class 13 - Thursday, April 25
 
Walking Audit of Storrs
Design Studio
Preliminary Design
 
Homework 9
 
Class 14 - Thursday, May 2
Design Studio
Project Presentation
 

Norman W. Garrick

 
Final Exam - Thursday, May 9
 
Class 5- Thursday, February 21
 
 
Design Project Overview
5.1 Data for Design
Homework 5
Term Paper Proposal (CE 5720 only)
 
Study Guide for Exam 1