CE 4720 and CE 5720
Street Design
 
Class 1- Thursday, January 21
1.1 Evolution of Street Design in America
1.2 Observing Streets
Homework 1
 
Class 2- Thursday, January 28
2.1 Context versus System Time Design
2.2 Speed in Design
Homework 2
Draft Study Guide for Exam 1
 
Class 3- Thursday, February 4
 
3.1 Target Speed and Design Speed
3.2 Classification of Streets and Highways
Homework 3
 
Class 4- Thursday, February 11
 
4.1 Basics of Street Networks
4.2 The Design of Street Networks
 
Homework 4
 
Class 5- Thursday, February 18
 
 
Term Project Overview
5.1 Street Networks Design Exercises (same as 4.2)
Term Paper Proposal (CE 5720 only)
 
Class 6 - Thursday, February 25
6.1 Interpreting Traffic Data for Design
Homework 5
Study Guide for Exam 1
 
Class 7 - Thursday, March 4
 
Exam 1
 
 
Class 8 - Thursday, March 11
Design Studio
 
Class 9 - Thursday, March 18
9.1 Elements of Urban Street Design
Design Studio
Homework 6
Draft Study Guide for  Finals
 
Class 10 - Thursday, March 25
 
10.1 Bike Facilities and Bike Network Design
Design Studio
Draft Site Assessment Report
Homework 7
 
Class 11 - Thursday, April 1
 
11.1 Elements of Intersection Design
Design Studio
Identify Design Exemplars
Homework 8
 
Class 12 - Thursday, April 8
 
12.1 Roundabouts
Design Studio
Preliminary Design Concept
 
No Class - Thursday, April 15
 
Spring Break
 
Class 13 - Thursday, April 22
Design Studio
Project Presentations
 
Final Exam - Thursday, May 6
 

Norman W. Garrick